Friday, June 26, 2009

mahjong anyone? (:

hi, how is everyone doing? i miss the updates on the blog. dorin, finished all your exams already? (:

da jie and i were planning to have overnight mahjong session on the 3rd of july, we do need a whole night of catching up right. haha. how about it? (:

Friday, June 19, 2009

UNFAIR - student denied diploma

Dear Family,
A student in USA was denied his high school diploma at his graduation. He walked up the stage, took a bow, blew a kiss to his mother and the Superintendent Suzanne Lukas ordered him to return to his seat and then refused him his diploma to graduate. She say he was 'fooling around'???? I am so angry by this news... so unfair.

You can read the news here: http://www.nowpublic.com/strange/bonny-eagle-high-school-student-denied-diploma-blowing-kiss

Watch the news here: http://www.myfoxmaine.com/myfox/pages/News/Detail?contentId=8453125&version=1&locale=EN-US&layoutCode=VSTY&pageId=3.2.1http://www.wmtw.com/video/19763284/index.html

Sign the petition here: http://www.thepetitionsite.com/1/fire-suzanne-lukas-as-bonny-eagle-high-school-superintendent

Anyway, I did all those plus leave some comments and send an email to the principal. What a ridiculous thing to happen. Below is my email to the principal.

Dorin

Dear Principle Schultz,
In light of the recent event of the denial of diploma for Justin Denney, I strongly believe the high school should have a change in the mission statement because there is certainty no joy allowed for students.

Of all the joys of a learning experience, graduation should be the greatest of all, when students receive the results for their hard work. It is an event for celebration. Every event consists of their own risks and rules which must be followed. However, these rules must be reasonable. I understand a rule was made to prevent misconduct in students. But I just simply can't understand how Justin Denney's actions breach this rule. Bowing is an action of courtesy and manners. Sharing of joy with family members and friends should be encouraged. Is it implied that your school is discouraging courtesy, manners and positive relationship?

Educational institutes are providing a service to the students, who are also your customers. I believe that in Justin Denney's case, your school has failed to deliver which is largely due to the actions of your staff. Please do consider truthfully if the situation is fair to Justin Denney. Is Superintendent Suzanne Lukas affected by the other situations of the day and her own mood to make that decision? Can Justin Denney's actions justify the punishment that is imposed on him?

With the progress of the matter, just allowing Justin Denney to receive his diploma is far from sufficient. He is already denied from the experience and distress have been caused. Prompt apology and actions should have been taken. Please do ensure that your school accepts the responsibility of the event and apologize immediately. Any delay would only worsen the situation. Please also do ensure appropriate actions would be taken to resolve the problem and communicate these actions to Justin Denney and his family. Do also ensure and communicate measures to prevent the same problem from occurring again.

May I also suggest sufficient remuneration to be given to Justin Denney for the distress he went through? He is robbed of his once-in-a-lifetime experience by unjust means, which I believe is the fault of your school management. Thus, management should be responsible for making this up to him. Superintendent Suzanne Lukas should also openly apologize, not only to Justin Denney but also to the public for displaying bad judgment and demonstrating negative values in education.

In the case where Superintendent Suzanne Lukas or your school is standing by the actions taken, your stand should also be communicated to the public. Maintaining silence is irresponsible and as an education provider, you are demonstrating these values to your students.

I do also hope to receive a reply from you.

Best Regards,
Dorinda

Wednesday, June 10, 2009

Swine Flu in Australia

Oh, and I know why the Australia Swine flu count can jump from 0 to over 1200 in less than a month....
because they really slack and couldnt care less in doing things...
they say to call your doctor is you are not feeling well...
Well, call the GP and say u got a flu, they will say eat a panadol and go to bed... i am not making this up, it happens. not to me though...
ok, another story. A girl is sick so she stays home from school on that day. later that day, her mother receive an email from the school saying that one of the students in the school have swine flu and request parents to contact their doctors if their child is not well... so the mother call doctor... the receptionist says, they dunno what to do and ask the mother to call emergency... so the mother call emergency and emergency say its not their responsibility and ask her to call the swine flu hotline (quite good rite, got a hotline).... so she call swine flu hotline, and repeat the situation again... but the hotline people tell her they are just a informative hotline for the public and are not responsible for swine flu cases.... they ask her to call emergency (which ask her to call the hotline)...
What is this???? They are pushing the blame around... no one wants to take charge... wat swineflu hotline is that that cannot be able to take charge of the situation and recommends immediate actions... and its not just a baseless case, the child may possibly be in close contact with the other child from her sch who have the swine flu. They don't seem to see the urgency and importance of the matter... No wonder it spread so fast... and the govt. keep saying they have it under control... I honestly don't think so...

Tues' outing

Today, my 3-some big sized family had a small outing.

Went to buy some furniture at the Plaza then came along some lucky prize at a draw... it was a pouch containing 2 vouchers for free fish spa for two, costing $10 per ten min each. Hmm... so we thought, "We might as well give it a try since it is free and furthermore bryan was so keen to try haha." So, we proceeded to marina square... and walked around the entire shopping centre.. legs so sore.. finally found the fish spa shop.. it was located OUTSIDE the shopping mall. sigh!!! by then, bryan was already so tired and was sulking because of the long walk. Anyway, the father and son tried the fish spa.. they were super excited. Hardly see them so enthu. Guess they really enjoyed the nibbling of the fishes, said that it felt like mild electric shocks haha.. What did i do then? I just stood outside the shop looking through the windows panels taking photos & videos of the two big boys and all the hungry fishes. For a moment, I wondered how tasty could the dead cells of the legs be, that made the fishes nibble non-stop??? Then i concluded... fishes have really short memory span.. they nibbled for 3 seconds.. then forgot that they already nibbled.. then restart the nibbling again.. that's why... haha!! Here's some photos and video to share with you.. can be quite gross if you do not like fishes...





Anyway, after the fish spa the two boys still could not contain their excitement. Kept telling me how wonderful they felt, how smooth their legs had become, how refreshed their legs felt and no longer sore already...etc. Just trying to make me envious only.. Then we went for darling's favourite lunch, kenny rogers. After filling our stomach with lotsa macaroni and cheese, ribs, chicken thighs and the delicious muffins, we went for a long prayer ritual.

After that, we went to buy some electronics stuff at Courts before going to Aunt's place for dinner at the Pavilion. It was a simple yet wonderful dinner because all were so happy and relaxed while chit chatting.

That's all for this Tues.. Ciao!

Dajie

Discrimination in Australia

There have been a lot of attacks on international students recently in Sydney and Melbourne...
Many of them happen in university.... Just in the University of Newscastle, it was reported to be 4 attacks in the past week but the actual figure is predicted to be 20 in 2 weeks because many are not reported...
Apparently, groups of teens have been robbing these students for a number of reasons:
1. Most of these international students are not familiar with the area and the law
2. Many have language barriers
3. Most never report crime out of fears
4. Many don't want a police record because they are afraid it will affect their application of PR
5. Bad experience with police (the police really cannot make it, not even sure if they will sincerely help)
6. The attackers won't be charge because they are under 18 (the police told the victims they will try to find their attackers but most likely there is nothing they can do)

I mean, what is this?????? and I thought it is quite bad in Brisbane.... at least its only undersurface discrimination here....
I honestly think there is a huge problem with the legal system here and the way the police work... police too slack and corrupted... What is call there is nothing they can do???
It is causing a big commotion here now... and dirty secrets are being dug up... like how this kind of crime have been going on for years with nothing much done.. and all the international students suffering in silence all these years... (i guess when u are overseas u will feel like a minority and endure most things, maybe because u feel no one will really help u too) The worse thing is that the police seems to know who is responsible for these attacks but they say they have got 'no proof' and because they are minors..... It is because the matter is getting more serious that it is reported... more serious attacks recently... 1 dead...
Most of the reported attacks in Melbourne happen in the University of Newcastle, and when interviewed, a lot of international students actually says they have been attacked or have friends who are attacked but did not report it because they are not seriously injured.... how bad is this....
And because a lot of the attacks in Sydney are on indian students, they are now protesting and threatening to fight back... which is bad bad bad... will cause more trouble and discrimination... but i don't blame them really, because nothing have really been done to help them... in the protest they are showing injuries and and saying this is what happen to me yesterday, 2 days ago, 1 week ago etc.... In Sydney and Melbourne, verbal and physical attacks on international students are said to be on a daily basis... they get bottles being throw at them, some just got beaten up out of fun etc... but because only minor injuries so also can't really report.... But imagine everday...
From the reports and comments written by other people, like no excuses for them... and really seems very common and serious... but maybe more serious in some parts...
haiz...

Sunday, June 7, 2009

Home Quarantine Order (HQO)

Abstracted from the Straits Times..

"...quarantined in their own homes or in government chalets. Certis Cisco officers will serve the order on them and install an electronic camera in their homes to ensure they stay indoors. The officers will make random calls to those quarantined, who will have to turn on the camera and stand in front of it to show that they are at home. They will also be given an oral thermometer and a mask to use at home, so that they can monitor their temperature and reduce the risk of spreading any virus to their family or household members.
Anyone who breaks quarantine may have to wear a location-tracking electronic tag or be detained in a hospital, MOH warned. They can be fined up to $10,000 and/or jailed for up to six months too. "

My question is if Dorin is asked to serve HQO, does it mean that she must to stay at home alone or is it possible to stay with family members? Would the family members need to be quarantine together with her?

Dorin, i think it would be good to wear a mask at all times while in the plane to protect yourself.

Hope to see ya real soon.

p/s: if cannot return on monday flight, nvm... any day also can la... i will try my best to go and fetch u after work. :)