There have been a lot of attacks on international students recently in Sydney and Melbourne...
Many of them happen in university.... Just in the University of Newscastle, it was reported to be 4 attacks in the past week but the actual figure is predicted to be 20 in 2 weeks because many are not reported...
Apparently, groups of teens have been robbing these students for a number of reasons:
1. Most of these international students are not familiar with the area and the law
2. Many have language barriers
3. Most never report crime out of fears
4. Many don't want a police record because they are afraid it will affect their application of PR
5. Bad experience with police (the police really cannot make it, not even sure if they will sincerely help)
6. The attackers won't be charge because they are under 18 (the police told the victims they will try to find their attackers but most likely there is nothing they can do)
I mean, what is this?????? and I thought it is quite bad in Brisbane.... at least its only undersurface discrimination here....
I honestly think there is a huge problem with the legal system here and the way the police work... police too slack and corrupted... What is call there is nothing they can do???
It is causing a big commotion here now... and dirty secrets are being dug up... like how this kind of crime have been going on for years with nothing much done.. and all the international students suffering in silence all these years... (i guess when u are overseas u will feel like a minority and endure most things, maybe because u feel no one will really help u too) The worse thing is that the police seems to know who is responsible for these attacks but they say they have got 'no proof' and because they are minors..... It is because the matter is getting more serious that it is reported... more serious attacks recently... 1 dead...
Most of the reported attacks in Melbourne happen in the University of Newcastle, and when interviewed, a lot of international students actually says they have been attacked or have friends who are attacked but did not report it because they are not seriously injured.... how bad is this....
And because a lot of the attacks in Sydney are on indian students, they are now protesting and threatening to fight back... which is bad bad bad... will cause more trouble and discrimination... but i don't blame them really, because nothing have really been done to help them... in the protest they are showing injuries and and saying this is what happen to me yesterday, 2 days ago, 1 week ago etc.... In Sydney and Melbourne, verbal and physical attacks on international students are said to be on a daily basis... they get bottles being throw at them, some just got beaten up out of fun etc... but because only minor injuries so also can't really report.... But imagine everday...
From the reports and comments written by other people, like no excuses for them... and really seems very common and serious... but maybe more serious in some parts...
haiz...
Wednesday, June 10, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
Oh dear.. so worried for you to be in Aussie. Pls travel in groups or at least have Wei Liat to keep u company wherever you are. Stay at home for the time being and not go out unless absolutely necessary. I felt the discrimination when i went Aussie the last two times. That's why now dun fancy Aussie so much, really.
ReplyDeleteDajie
ya Aus can be really discriminating but not all people also la...I do meet really nice ones...
ReplyDeleteThinking back, I did not really kena anything but one of my fren did kena thrown chix eggs when he first arrived...he had a hard time cleaning up, removing the stench and all the stains etc on his luggage...
And yes the police cannot make it too..there was once I was at the police station with frens lodging report of our windows smashed car...and halfway through (actually like more than an hour later) on the CCTV they saw a group of teens fighting very badly...instead of going to stop the fight, they stand there and enjoy the "show" plus can ask another police officer to help buy some donuts, and muffins back when he is already holding a burger and eating it happily...and his size is already many many times mine wif a super huge stomach...how he chase people I also wonder...no time management, too slow too be true and not righteous at all...they like take pay pass by the days kind...
That is aus and we jus gotta accept till someone really step out and wake all these idiotic bugger up...they are just so hopeless...