Sunday, November 1, 2009

Exciting fishing trip

Well, but because Bribie Island quite far away (1.5 hours drive) so we found another new place to fish... half an hour drive away only... but no boats to rent here... cannot fish in the open sea... we went there 3 weeks ago and got to know some locals there... exciting night... we stayed there for about 6 hours till 11pm... we actually bought some things to bbq there... and it was really cold and windy... but the excitment makes us forgot the cold and our hunger... hahah...
first more exciting catch of the night... a big catfish... there are several small catches, but we put them all back because too small, law says cannot keep... then this big catfish we also put back cause nobody know how to cook it... and the locals says they got catch sharks here before... wow... but they say sharks here are small ones lar... about 1 meter only 0_0...

after the previous catch everyone more enthu already... then about 1 hour later came sth more exciting... look!!!
Stingray!! they are quite strong actually and it took about 15mins to fished it up...
Stingray in the net...
They initially wanted to put it back too, then the auntie says we want we want... then they say ok... so... they attempt to take out the hook then some things happen lar and i really feel so cruel... so i decide not to tell you guys or post the pics... i still feel bad now desipte the fact that...
we ate it... this is only half of the fin... the another half we bbq it yesterday when we go fishing again... wei liat and the chef took care of it and i didnt see so it is better for me in a sense... but they say it is very sticky and slimy...

Then after about an hour plus, sth more exciting happen that took us by surprise. Some fish which got hooked swim from right side of the pier to the left side really fast, nearly entangling all the other fishing lines... so everyone hurrying reel in their lines and watch the fight between the fish and our lucky fisherman (same guy who caught the catfish and stingray with a promotional supermarket fishing rod, and not considered a pro yet by his companions)... think it took about half an hour... and some people say it may be a shark but the most experience lady there say shouldnt be because it was not strong enough 0_0.. by shark she meant great white or hammerhead which she caught there before and took her and 2 guys 2 hours to fish it up...

ok... so in the end he finally manage to pull it closer to us and saw it was really not small... they tried to catch it up with a net by the stairs, but it struggled and actually broke the net... and oh oh... how are they going to bring it up now??

then came the rescue of the korean guys, who were also fishing there but remain anti-social until now... too exciting huh... hahha...
so here it is, with the korean guys still struggling... a stingray shark, they say... but without the poison in its tail...
with the broken net and proud fisherman...




They also let us take photos with it... but i dun dare take... the auntie and wei liat both took photo with it individually though... and say it was really heavy and slimy...
well, this time they manage to take the hook out properly and put it back... it swam away in a flash of light... hhaha... they did ask us if we want it before they put it back, of course we say no... goodness... less than 5 mins later the korean guys oso caught a mini size of the same fish and put it back... hahah... not so exciting here le, after the previous catch...


the fishes here really clever, keep eating the bait and wont get caught... and they know how to debone too... always left bone for wei liat... but he also really lucky lar... keep catching things that even fishing pros cant catch... besides only catching 1 small fish, he also fish up a tree branch (how he manage to fish it up i dunno oso), a fishing line with hooks and weights and lots of leaves... yesterday he also fished up a can full of seashells and a very long fishing line (we dunno how long because we didnt manage to pull the whole line up). The problem is the water is quite clear and clean and nobody fished up this kind of junk except him... and the probability that these things can get hooked and fished up is so low... so he really lucky... ok lar, but a week ago he oso got fished up a big catfish lar... too bad i doing project at home so no one take photo for him...

there is also a dog park (enclosed area where dogs are free to run around and play with the slides etc.) here and I kept wondering why singapore dun have... the locals we met 3 weeks ago oso got bring their dog there... and they say cannot let the dogs go into the water after dark when it is high tigh because their smell will attract the sharks... so scary, like movie... but the guys so sadistic, wan to use the dog as bait... haiz...

anyway, this is the end of that day... haha... we went back at 11 plus... didnt realise we so tired till we on the way home... hahah... yesterday we go back same place to fish again but nothing exciting happen already... haiz... didnt see the locals there too, maybe they go fish bigger fish... good past time though... can spend whole day there... yesterday we went at 3pm and reach home at 2am... haha...


1 comment: