Sunday, March 22, 2009

ok... let me try to upload the photos now...
here goes... my first nite out on 6th march, Friday...

On this day, we are going to an asian party at a club in Brisbane city... 4 of us - me, weiliat, our 'cook' xiang wei and his malaysian fren from qut, calvin (his eyes SMALLER than mine!!! and he lives quite far away with his aunt so he nv go home after sch and comes with his big sch bag... dunno how he go home later too, taxi so ex, his house is abt an hour ride). So lucky of us to live near city... 10 mins bus or train ride and a lot of direct buses... later still got night rider home... haha...
We got a card from our tenant which gives us free entry to the club before 9.30pm (so good)...

So, we went there and got in... but found the club too empty - too early (no wonder they give free entry before 9.30pm) ... so we got a stamp on our hand and got out (a lot ppl doing this too)... hahaha... come back later when it gets warmer... (they oso give us the discount card for their next coming event - foam party 2 weeks later)
oh, and the security there was quite strict too... foreigners must bring passport (and passport only) and they really check... not like singapore only glance... hahha... ooo... and their bouncers are females but really really scary looking... a few of them walk around the club to prevent trouble and chase drunk ppl out... and they really chase ppl out of the club when they can see that you are drunk... (met a fren there who got chase out because he started talking nonsense - a funny story, i'll talk abt this later) but the bouncers oso got enjoy and dance in the dance floor sometimes... what a weird scene really... considering their big and fierce appearance... hahha... they are fun and friendly when there are no trouble... otherwise... well, just dun mess with them...

so we walk walk a while on the streets (but really nothing to walk because all the shops have already close by then, and it is only 9.20pm!!! singapore only 7.20pm omg...) and finally found a place to grab a bite and sit down to wait - fast food corner. but by 9.30 the staffs started cleaning up and put the chairs up on the tables le so we practically finish our food and got 'chased out' of the area... the ppl here really got principle... for example i went inside a telecom shop to buy my prepaid card at 4.50pm, then i ask them to activate the service for me, they say "oh, we are closing in 10 mins, u can activate it yourself at home" but that time my home dun have internet yet... :( still got other examples, but i shall not elaborate... haha...

ok, back to the nite... anyway, its only abt 10pm when we left the fast food corner... still early for club... haiz...

so we loiter around again and come to the Brisbane city square where a group of ppl are dancing to live music... so nice and fun... i think its an every friday event... there are dance coaches there to teach ppl to dance too... but we too shy to join in... hahaha... so we join the other ppl who are gathering around to watch...
snap shot of ppl dancing... can u see the dj on the mini 'stage'?
Below is a video of the ppl dancing(quite a big file, dunno can c not)... see how they are enjoying themselves despite so many ppl watching... i guess u really dun care when u are 'in' the situation... hahha...

Right... ok... so we really hang around for a while... but u know how can we resist stepping into the casino at least to 'watch and explore' a bit when it is jus opposite us...
This is a photo of the Brisbane casino (i forgot the name)... right in Brisbane city and across fron the brisbane city square... It is quite a nice place... with i think abt 8 restaurants and 6 cafes... dunno wat time they close though, but when we go in they are still open (maybe its 24hrs?)
They have high security, dun allow big bags in... and their lockers so exxxxxx.... i think is 10 dollars if not wrong... so... our fren Calvin cannot get in with his sch bags.... frown~~~ so we decide to go in in pairs... and take turns to look after his bag...

oh, and there is this big ferries (dunno how to spell and lazy to check) wheel across the river from the casino... it right in front of Griffth University... i must go there some time... dunno how much it cost though...

ok... so me and weiliat went into the casino first... and maybe our 'exploration' became a little hands on... hahaha... i didnt play but weiliat says he'll play 20 dollars... some games are at 5 dollars minimum... but the game he wants to play - big/small is 25 at minimum... hahha... so he only have 1 go...
looking at the pic, can u guess the result???
hahah... it is taken after we left the casino, while waiting for Xiang wei and Calvin to have a go...

hahaha... anyway, wei liat bet on big and big it is... so got extra 25 dollars to spend... yay!!! and he kept his promise to leave... hahha... we so happy that i called da jie to tell her the good news... hahha... but its actually such a small matter and 'only' 25 dollars... (heard da jie very generously donated thousand to genting for the great entertainment they provide...)

well, small matter but really make our night more enjoyable... hahha...

xiang wei and calvin didnt play, but went looking for the rumoured free drinks that the casino offered... hahha... and found out that now need membership card...

by this time the ppl dancing are already gone... they ended at 11pm... so we figured it should be late enough to head to the club... the streets here are actually quite safe... a lot of police walking around the area... and they dun allow ppl to drink glass bottled alcohol on the streets... we saw a policeman telling a man to throw his drink away and really stand there till he did as he was told...

When we got to the club there was already a queue outside... and it was happening inside... music may be a little too loud for me... but no smoking here too... which is good enough for me...

we found a sofa to ourselves and i tried to take a photo of Xiang wei and Calvin. they pose and well, lets say i video it instead... hahha (can hear the loud background music)...

ok... this time i put my phone to the right mode and took this photo of the 3 guys in the club, at our own 'cozy' corner... hhaha...

we met some frens here and got to noe some frens of our frens here... its a small place seriously... almost all asians and almost all students from uq, qut etc...so we are like all inter-linked... (ppl normally bond more easily with ppl who are like them when they are away from home)... got to noe a lot ppl - malaysians, singaporeans, taiwaness, hongkees, japaness and koreans... (more true for the foam party yesterday, where we had more interactions like covering each other with foam... i'll post in another post) but somehow didnt meet any Chinese... strange... though nv exchange any contacts but had fun...

but i think clubbing still doesnt really suit me (tried dancing but feel soooo stupid) so i leave with wei liat at about 1 plus... we met our drunk fren(he is actually our poly classmate's boyfren - we went to his house warming) while looking for the night rider (they call it nightlink) bus stop... he is with his fren at abt 100m away from the club...

we didnt immediately realise he was drunk then... because he look normal... he jus grab weiliat's hand and keep saying he very good blah blah blah and he is his good fren??? haha... his fren came over and say 'sorry, do u noe him?' ok... so we realise he is drunk and has been talking nonsense to a lot of ppl... apparently he has been chased out of the club by the bouncer - he unbutton his shirt so the bouncer came to tell him to button back, but he started talking nonsense and verbally challenge the bouncer (omg... he must be really drunk to do this)... oh, and that he shouted at a police officer on the streets!!! his fren is really freaked out when he does tat... he can get his student visa cancelled... he really jus keep talking nonsense to us and keep wanting to give weiliat all his money and his casino card (which i dunno have how much credits in it)... ok, maybe his family is rich enough, and maybe we should have accepted his 300 dollars afterall... hahah... ok, just kidding...

there are still some other things that he did while we are with him, but i shall not go into too much details (quite boring to say this way, dun wan to bored you all with my poor narration). anyway, sum up, after abt half an hour, his other frens finally realise his absence and came looking for him (we cant contact them while they're in the club as there are no reception)...

Thats all... oh, and Calvin spend the night at our house instead... we 'rented' him our balcony... hahha...

Hope u all enjoyed this post... (at least a little?)


Next up: Foam party


or my house pics? (vote?)






see you then... its 6am here now... spend the night doing this... hhaha... must do report tml... if not die... oh, and tml (i mean today) we going to meet mongolian bbq buffet for dinner... Mmmmmm.... 20plus dollars i think... but must spoil myself a bit... haha...

Miss you all...
and y no er jie and kor, wei, jeffrey, james???

Dorin

3 comments:

  1. haha. this is such a very loooonngg post that kept me entertained for quite a while. haha. and i vote for foam party la! see how happening you are there. haha.

    i will update photos of what is happening here soon enough for you too, maybe after tuesday hur. (:

    jiajia

    ReplyDelete
  2. I want to see all.... all abt the foam party and your house!!!!!!!!! And your new TV too haha

    ReplyDelete
  3. BTW, I know why Wei Liat win..BECAUSE he wore PINK!!! ahhhahaha
    I really enjoy the post. More more more....

    ReplyDelete